2015 SEDA Oxford Cup Qualifier

The 2015 Oxford Cup qualifier tournament was held on Saturday, September 12, 2015


Congratulations to those who qualified and will advance to represent Saskatchewan at the national Oxford Cup tournament in November:

Layla M. & Leora D.
Wardah M. & Graeme S.
Anywyn D. & Afsohneh A.
Damian G. & Rahul P.
Ria B. & Nohl P.
Rafia B. & Emma E.

The national tournament provides teams the chance to vie for the opportunity to represent Canada at the international Oxford Cup in England. Good luck to all of our Saskatchewan teams!

2013 Oxford Cup:

Saskatchewan Shows Off to the National Debate Community, BP Style!


The Oxford Cup is Canada's annual British Parliamentary style tournament and qualifier for Canada's two teams to attend the international Oxford Cup held in England.

SEDA holds a qualifier in early Fall and usually sends 2-4 teams to Canada's event.

2013 Oxford Cup Picture

Congratulations to Layla M., Ahmereen S., Nasra M., Areeb S., Jason X., and Joshua N. on their outstanding performance at the 2013 Oxford Cup in Vancouver, BC this past weekend!


A nail-bitingly close final saw Nasra and Areeb finish second overall, while Josh and Jason broke the top eight. Layla and Ahmereen placed 17th out of 44.

Special congratulations to Nasra, Areeb, and Jason, who placed in the top 20 for overall speakers. Nasra was ranked top speaker, Areeb fifth, and Jason 19th. All six Sask delegates placed in the top 32.

Many thanks to SEDA President Wendy James for acting as chaperone and coach!

Our Sponsors

Saskatchewan Lotteries Sask Culture Canadian Student Debating Federation Law Foundation of Saskatchewan

News & Upcoming Events

  • Changes to the Board


    The October AGM saw a number of changes to the board we'd like to acknowledge. We are pleased with the strong turn-out this year. We had a number of parents and coaches present as well as most clubs represented. With the regular turn-over in board member terms, we would like to welcome Melissa Gerlach and Paula Dvernichuk as new members to the board. Of course these psotions mark the end of terms of other members. So, we'd also like to acknowledge the following retiring board members:


    Kara Helmes - Kara has been a long history with SEDA. A member of the board for over 10 years, she has committed to coaching and supporting SEDA. A former debater, president and past president (two terms), she helped SEDA navigate some turbulent waters in recent years. We thank Kara for her commitment and leadership.


    Sarah Myers - Sarah, a recent addition to the board, has spent her free time supporting elementary debate and coaching. As a highly respected member of the board, her contributions are valued. We are grateful to Sarah for her contributions to SEDA.


    Dylan Hardy - A former debater, Dylan is passionate about debate. He has committed his time to the advancement of debate and debaters in the province as a coach, mentor, judge and board member. Although his long commitment to the board is coming to an end, Dylan's impact on the debate community will remain.


    Matt Schmeisser - Also a former debater, Matt has dedicated hours debating, coaching and actively participating on the board. Matt has volunteered his time and energy and influence many young debaters and many have noted the feedback he provides. Wherever his career takes him, debate will remain an important part of Matt's life. SEDA is grateful to Matt and wishes him the best in his endeavors.

  • Your Canada - Your Constitution

    Thank you YCYC for sponsoring 2016 National Debate!