1) Coaches, register your Club HERE! Club registration is $40 for the season.


2) Read the fine print and provide it to your debaters prior to registering. Only debaters who have provided assent and whose parents/guardians have provided consent to Terms and Liabilities may complete the registreation process.


3)Register individual debaters HERE. If you are registering multiple debaters, download our group registration form and return it via email to


4) Pay all fees. Note, coaches can pay all club and individual membership fees through PayPal. If coaches are not collecting fees for individual memerships, we encourage individual debaters to pay their membership fees by cash or cheque at their first SEDA event of the season!


5) View the 2016-17 tournament dates and resolutions.


6) Register debate teams for tournaments HERE. Note- all tournaments and teams must be registered individually. If you are a coach registering multiple teams, please download our group registration form, complete it, and return it via email to


*PLEASE NOTE: Only registered debate clubs may register teams for SEDA events. All debaters must complete the individual membership form and all fees must be paid prior to participating in any SEDA event of the 2015-16 season.



Welcome to the 2016-2017 Debate Season!




Tournament Etiquette

Been having trouble at tournaments? Does it feel like you're out of sync? Want to know how to behave at a tournament?

Or perhaps, you would like to be better prepared to tell your friend how they should behave.

Then read our handy Brush Up on Tournament Etiquette.


Past Resolutions:

2014-2015 Resolutions

2013-2014 Resolutions

2012-2013 Resolutions

2011-2012 Resolutions

2010-2011 Resolutions

2009-2010 Resolutions

2008-2009 Resolutions

Our Sponsors

Saskatchewan Lotteries Sask Culture Canadian Student Debating Federation Law Foundation of Saskatchewan

News & Upcoming Events

  • Changes to the Board


    The October AGM saw a number of changes to the board we'd like to acknowledge. We are pleased with the strong turn-out this year. We had a number of parents and coaches present as well as most clubs represented. With the regular turn-over in board member terms, we would like to welcome Melissa Gerlach and Paula Dvernichuk as new members to the board. Of course these psotions mark the end of terms of other members. So, we'd also like to acknowledge the following retiring board members:


    Kara Helmes - Kara has been a long history with SEDA. A member of the board for over 10 years, she has committed to coaching and supporting SEDA. A former debater, president and past president (two terms), she helped SEDA navigate some turbulent waters in recent years. We thank Kara for her commitment and leadership.


    Sarah Myers - Sarah, a recent addition to the board, has spent her free time supporting elementary debate and coaching. As a highly respected member of the board, her contributions are valued. We are grateful to Sarah for her contributions to SEDA.


    Dylan Hardy - A former debater, Dylan is passionate about debate. He has committed his time to the advancement of debate and debaters in the province as a coach, mentor, judge and board member. Although his long commitment to the board is coming to an end, Dylan's impact on the debate community will remain.


    Matt Schmeisser - Also a former debater, Matt has dedicated hours debating, coaching and actively participating on the board. Matt has volunteered his time and energy and influence many young debaters and many have noted the feedback he provides. Wherever his career takes him, debate will remain an important part of Matt's life. SEDA is grateful to Matt and wishes him the best in his endeavors.

  • Your Canada - Your Constitution

    Thank you YCYC for sponsoring 2016 National Debate!